The Lone Star State

9,615,419 absentee ballots were cast in Texas’s 2020 election cycle. Overall 11,315,056 ballots were cast in the 2020 election, putting overall state turnout at about 66%. The state swung for incumbent Donald Trump, who won its 38 electoral votes with 52.1% of the popular vote. Texas has consistently voted for Republican presidential candidates since 1980.

Texas has a bicameral legislature with 31 senators and 150 representatives. The legislative sessions last for 140 calendar days and starts the second Tuesday of every other January, and Republicans have held the majority in both chambers since 1992. Texas’s governor, Greg Abbot (R), is eligible for re-election in 2022.