South Dakota

The Mount Rushmore State

Under God the People Rule


211,518 absentee ballots were cast in South Dakota’s 2020 election cycle. Overall 427,529 ballots were cast in the 2020 election, putting overall state turnout at about 73.88%. The state swung heavily for incumbent Donald Trump, who won its 3 electoral votes with 61.8% of the popular vote. South Dakota has consistently voted for Republican presidential candidates since 1968.

South Dakota has a bicameral legislature with 35 senators and 70 representatives. The legislature is in session annually starting the second Tuesday of January – lasting 40 days in odd-numbered years, and 35 days in even-numbered years, and Republicans have held the majority in both chambers since 1992. South Dakota’s governor, Kristi Noem (R), is eligible for re-election in 2022.