The Beaver State

Alis volat propriis (She flies with her own wings)


2,381,893 absentee ballots were cast in Oregon’s 2020 election cycle. Overall 2,374,321 ballots were cast in the 2020 election, putting overall state turnout at about 81%. The state swung for President Joe Biden, who won its 7 electoral votes with 56.5% of the popular vote. Oregon has consistently voted for Democrat presidential candidates since 1988.

Oregon has a bicameral legislature with 30 senators and 60 representatives. The legislature is in session annually for 160 calendar days, and Democrats have held the majority in both chambers since 2012. Oregon’s governor, Kate Brown (D), is not eligible for re-election.