With God, all things are possible

The Buckeye State


3,503,169 absentee ballots were cast in Ohio’s 2020 election cycle. Overall 5,974,121 ballots were cast in the 2020 election, putting overall state turnout at about 73.99%. The state swung for incumbent Donald Trump, who won its 18 electoral votes with 53.27% of the popular vote. Ohio is a swing state. Every president has won Ohio since 1964 except for Joe Biden.

Ohio has a bicameral legislature with 33 senators and 99 representatives. The legislature is in session annually from January to December, and Republicans have held the majority in both chambers since 2010. Ohio’s governor, Mike DeWine (R), is up for re-election in 2023.

Election Integrity

In the wake of the 2020 elections and resulting lack of confidence in the outcome, state legislatures across the country reviewed their election laws and proposed and/or enacted certain modifications to existing law. While our country remains bitterly divided, a battle is taking place as to whether these laws suppress the vote or expand access to the ballot box. Many believe claims of voter suppression from the Left are part of a larger effort to federalize our elections. But the U.S. Constitution grants state legislatures authority to establish state election laws.

Learn more about state election law reforms and decide for yourself. Do you want bureaucrats in Washington, D.C. controlling local elections or do you want your state lawmakers to write laws that meet your state’s unique characteristics?

Absentee Ballot Application

 Pre-COVIDDuring 20202021 Legislative Activity
ExcuseNo excuse requiredNo Change HB 387
Lines 2961 - 2973


Eliminates no-excuse mail-in voting and allows it only for disability, illness, absence, or unsentenced incarceration.
AutomaticNoNo ChangeNo Legislative Activity
DeadlineNoon three days before the electionNo ChangeNo Legislative Activity
Valid for X# of CyclesSame cycle onlyNo changeNo Legislative Activity

Legislative Ratings

The American Conservative Union Foundation rates all members of the legislature to track how they vote on key legislation. A high rating reflects a more conservative voting record.

Ohio averages a 62% rating, reflecting its right leaning position. Visit their ratings page to learn more about individual voting and why ACU opposed or supported the legislation.