North Dakota

Peace Garden State

Liberty and Union, Now and Forever, One and Inseparable


A total of 364,251 ballots were cast for president in North Carolina in 2020, putting overall state turnout at 62%. Incumbent Donald J. Trump won the state’s 3 electoral votes by a wide margin, winning 65.11% of the popular vote against Joe Biden’s 31.76%. North Dakota has consistently voted for Republican presidential candidates since 1968.

North Dakota has a bicameral legislature with 47 senators and 94 representatives. Republicans have held the majority in both chambers since 1992. Governor Doug Burgum (R) is eligible for re-election in 2024.