New Mexico

Land of Enrichment

New Mexico voters cast 928,230 ballots in the 2020 general election, putting overall state turnout at 68.67%.  83% of these votes came in via absentee ballot. The state swung for President Joe Biden, who won its five (5) electoral votes with 54% of the popular vote. New Mexico has consistently voted for Democrat presidential candidates since 2008.

New Mexico has a bicameral legislature with 42 senators and 70 assemblymen. The legislature is in session for 60 days biennially, and Democrats have held the majority in both chambers since 2016.

New Mexico’s governor, Michelle Lujan Grisham (D), is up for re-election in 2022.