Cornhusker State

Equality before the law


Nebraska voters cast 951,712 votes in the 2020 general election, putting overall state turnout at about 70%. Nebraska is one of two states that splits its electoral votes instead of employing the winner-takes-all method used in the other 48 states. The state swung heavily for incumbent Donald J. Trump, who won 4 of its electoral votes with 58.5% of the popular vote. Joe Biden won 1 electoral vote in Nebraska from its 2nd Congressional District. Nebraska has consistently voted for Republican presidential candidates since 1976, only awarding electoral votes to Democrat candidates in 2008 and 2020.

Nebraska has the nation’s only unicameral legislature, having passed an initiative to amend the Nebraska Constitution in 1934. The Nebraska state senate has 49 seats, the majority of which have been held by Republicans since 1999. Governor Pete Ricketts (R) is not eligible for re-election in 2022.

Election Integrity

In the wake of the 2020 elections and resulting lack of confidence in the outcome, state legislatures across the country reviewed their election laws and proposed and/or enacted certain modifications to existing law. While our country remains bitterly divided, a battle is taking place as to whether these laws suppress the vote or expand access to the ballot box. Many believe claims of voter suppression from the Left are part of a larger effort to federalize our elections. But the U.S. Constitution grants state legislatures authority to establish state election laws.

Learn more about state election law reforms and decide for yourself. Do you want bureaucrats in Washington, D.C. controlling local elections or do you want your state lawmakers to write laws that meet your state’s unique characteristics?

Absentee Ballot Application

 Pre-COVIDDuring 20202021 Legislative Activity
ExcuseNo excuse requiredNo ChangesNo Legislative Activity
AutomaticNo; written and signed request required.No legislative change; mail-in ballots were sent to all registered voters in the primary and general elections.No Legislative Activity
Deadline5PM the second Friday before Election Day.No ChangesNo Legislative Activity
Valid for X# of Cycles1No ChangesNo Legislative Activity

Legislative Ratings

The American Conservative Union Foundation rates all members of the legislature to track how they vote on key legislation. A high rating reflects a more conservative voting record.

Nebraska averages a 52% rating, reflecting its more right leaning position. Visit their ratings page to learn more about individual voting and why ACU opposed or supported the legislation.