The Last Frontier

North to the Future


In Alaska’s 2020 election cycle 230,410 absentee, early, and questioned ballots were issued and 205,597 were returned. Overall 359,530 ballots were cast in the 2020 election, and overall state turnout was slightly below 69%. Alaska voters favored incumbent Donald J. Trump, who won its 3 electoral votes with 52.8% of the popular vote. Alaska has consistently voted for Republican presidential candidates since 1968.

Alaska has a bicameral legislature with 20 senators and 40 representatives. The legislature is in session from January to May. Governor Mike Dunleavy (R), whom Donald Trump endorsed in 2018, is eligible for re-election in 2022 and is limited to 2 consecutive terms.